STATE OF NEW JERSEY DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES DIVISION OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE AND HEALTH SERVICES Licensed Clinical Social Workers, Professional Counselors, and Marriage and Family Therapists

TAKE NOTICE that the Department of Human Services, Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services (DMAHS) intends to seek approval from the United States Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), for any necessary amendments to the New Jersey Medicaid (Title XIX) State Plan and Alternative Benefit Plan (ABP) to allow Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSWs), Licensed Professional Counselors (LPCs), and Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists (LMFTs) to enroll as a Medicaid Fee-For-Service providers in the NJ FamilyCare program pursuant to P.L.2023, c.213 for the provision of behavioral health services permitted within the LCSW, LPC, and LMFT's scope of practice as established by the New Jersey State Board of Social Work Examiners, and Professional Counselor Examiners Committee and the State Board of Marriage and Family Examiners. This is intended to improve access for primary behavioral health services.

The ABP was established in accordance with the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) when New Jersey expanded Medicaid effective January 1, 2014 to parents, caretaker relatives, and childless adults with income up to and including 133% of the federal poverty level. The ACA requires the establishment of an Alternative Benefit package for the Medicaid Expansion populations. The ABP must cover 10 Essential Health Benefits as described in section 1302(b) of the ACA and the State assures that there will be full access to Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) services for people under 21 years of age. A list of services can be found on the DHS website at the site listed below.

DMAHS estimates the increased expenditures associated with this amendment for State Fiscal Years (SFY) 2025 and 2026 will be \$12m in total funds (\$3m State funds, 9m Federal funds) each year. The fee schedule will be

published on the Department's fiscal agent's website at https://www.njmmis.com under "rate and code information" when available.

This Notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of Federal law and regulations, specifically 42 C.F.R. 440.386, 42 CFR 447.205, and 42 U.S.C. 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this Notice is available for public review at the Medical Assistance Customer Centers, County Welfare Agencies, and the Department's website at:

http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/providers/grants/public/index.html.

Comments or inquiries must be submitted in writing within 30 days of the date of this notice to:

Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services

Office of Legal & Regulatory Affairs

Attention: Margaret Rose
P.O. Box 712, Mail Code #26

Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0712

Fax: 609-588-7343/ E-mail: Margaret.Rose@dhs.state.nj.us